

Sick of these ads? Of course you are… Well what if you could avoid them altogether?
Here’s a simple tip that heps you do just that,- stopping images and pages from a long list of notorious web sites from being displayed on your browser. These particular ones are hosted on the domain “content.yieldmanager.edgesuite.net” and link to a url at “ad.adperium.com” – literally just a couple of sites among many which are purely for shoving advertising and spam down the viewers throat.
One easy way to stop such ads appearing is to use customise your HOSTS file. This is basically like a local version of a DNS server (those servers that translate domain names into numbers so your browser can find web sites). In the HOSTS file, you’d have a list of all the sites you want blocked and have them correspond to 127.0.0.1 (also known as “localhost”) – so that your browser would try to load the images and pages from your own PC instead of the actual web site.
Handily, someone’s already written a customised HOSTS file for you to use and it’s pretty simple to install. First things first though, – better safe than sorry.. back up the file you’ve got.
A friend of mine and a newspaper journalist (two separate people) recently emailed me – one to announce her housewarming party, the other to apologise in case she’d spammed me. Nothing unusual there, no – until I looked at the “To:” lines of the emails. The first person had emailed me along with about sixty other people, the second one had about twenty other recipients – all of them in the “To:” line – so all of them now know all the email addresses of all the others.
I’ve replied to both of them, pointing them at the BCC Please web site. Whether they’ll pay attention or not, I dunno. It’s not a case of email etiquette as such (well, okay, it kinda IS really) but it’s always seemed like common sense to me. If you’re sending something out to many people, don’t do it in such a way that all the email addresses are visible to everyone receiving the message. That’s just silly. I mean – I certainly don’t want my personal email address publicised to all your friends and aquaintances and I’m sure most of them will feel the same.
Anyway… rant over…

Posted by Niall in archive, spam on 11-06-2008
5
I just got an email, that – if I click the convoluted and badly spoofed “genuine looking” URL in it – sends me an EXE file to download (called video.exe). Strangely enough, it’s fairly obvious from the URL that it’s going to do that so I NARROWLY avoid clicking it.
Nothing strange there. Nothing strange either about the collection of random words from the dictionary at the bottom of the email, after the URL, designed to fool spam detectors in email clients. They don’t work. The email arrived in the Junk Email folder.
No, the strange thing in this email was the subject, which was:
"what a stupid face you have here, Niall"
Great, eh? I mean, I’ve seen kind and thoughtful spammers, but rude and offensive ones? Yes, – that subject TOTALLY endeared me, egging me on further – definitely made me want to open the email and download and run whatever they told me to…
Yes…
Totally.
Michele Neylon got spam from an Irish company today (it’s not his first time either) – and he’s not the only one.
Today I got a completely unsolicited junk advertising mail from a Cork-based company called ‘Micromail’ promoting their “Interactive Developer Workshops” and yes, it ticks all the boxes too. – Badly formatted HTML email with a spammy subject line, totally impersonal, un-automated unsubscription (involving sending the guy an email at his personal address with the subject “STOP”) and yes, no explanation on why I was chosen to receive this email.

Companies need to learn that this is not acceptable. For some reason, I used to think Irish companies were above peddling their wares via this cheap and abusive use of the Internet, but that thought was proven wrong before.
I’m not sure where Micromail in particular took my email address from, or what made them add it to their mailing list, thinking that I would be interested in their seminars on “Codegear RAD studio” or “JBuilder” software. I never dealt with them before or attended any of their seminars. In fact I’d never heard of them until today. Maybe they should read this… or THIS.
The fact remains that I’m not interested in their wares, nor will I ever be – and nor should anyone, while this is their way of advertising it.
I think not…

The text at the bottom reads:
If you don’t wish to receive such messages, please send your domain name to jj([at])dedik_dot_biz to remove your site from our list.
What bare faced cheek! “We know this is junk/spam, but just email us with your domain name and we’ll remove you… (*wink!*)” … just how many domain names or email addresses have these assholes harvested?
A quick Whois on the IP address of the commenter points me to the “Asia Pacific Network Information Centre”… guess that doesn’t really help much…
As said elsewhere:
I 100% believe that email is fake or that would be additional bonus to the spammer if I was stupid enough to send a mail. Why the email address not in clear text? Spammer is afraid of spammers, too?
I’m sure I’m not the only one getting these spam comments on my blog (ShiteDrivers.com gets almost 100 of them per week at the moment, and others have gotten them too).
My query is… how can they be stopped? I don’t want them appearing in my Akismet at all – I just want them deleted. Perhaps I should have Spam Karma, but I found the last time I had that installed that it was deleting valid comments far too often…